There are those who make the argument that it is easier to buy a gun in some states than to get a license to drive a car or motorcycle. That may not be true for Connecticut. Our state has one of the toughest gun control laws around. Things like the elementary school shootings in Newtown have a way of spurring that kind of activity.
Still, the law in Connecticut is pretty strict when it comes to driving. For example, if you want a license to ride a motorcycle, you first have to have a regular driver's license. To get that, you have to go through all the necessary learning processes and pass tests.
Then you have to get a motorcycle endorsement on that license. That requires you to fill out a special application form and there are two forms of endorsement -- one for three-wheeled cycles and one for two-wheeled. If you are under the age of 18, you will need to get a signed consent form from a parent or legal guardian.
After that, there are motorcycle-specific knowledge and vision tests. If you pass them, you get a learner's permit. But that's not all. New applicants have to take and pass a safety class from a source that's approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles. That involves classroom and field training.
Those are some of the hoops that you have to jump through if you happen to already be a resident of Connecticut. If you have a license and move to the state, you have to get your license transferred within 30 days. Whatever vehicles you have need to be registered with the state within 60 days. And before the state will issue a registration, you have to prove you have the necessary liability insurance in place. There are more steps that need to be taken, but we think you get the point.
Safety for all motorists is the reason for all these rules. And by complying with the law, there is a greater assurance that if an accident due to someone's negligence does occur, the responsible party or parties will be more easily held accountable under the law for the damage they have caused.